Episode 11: Cosmic Musings – Where are all our neighbours?

Given the sheer number of stars in the universe — over 200 billion in our galaxy alone, in a universe of two trillion galaxies — chances are, we are not alone. And yet, we have yet to see a shred of credible evidence for life outside our little cosmic corner, let alone intelligent life. The silence is deafening. Are we really alone?

Listen on YouTube

Show Notes

  1. The Man Who Introduced the World to Flying Saucers, The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2014/06/the-man-who-introduced-the-world-to-flying-saucers/372732/
  2. What is the origin of the term ‘UFO’?, Oxford University Press: https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/explore/what-is-the-origin-of-the-term-ufo/
  3. The curious case of the alien in the photo, and the mystery that took years to solve, The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/science/2017/sep/30/alien-photo-roswell-new-mexico-mystery
  4. Of Aliens And UFOs ‒ Sri Lanka’s Strangest Sightings, Roar Media: https://roar.media/english/life/srilanka-life/of-aliens-and-ufos-e28092-sri-lankas-strangest-sightings/
  5. UFOs in Sri Lanka, LankaLibrary: http://www.lankalibrary.com/myths/ufo.htm
  6. Mutual UFO Network (MUFON): https://www.mufon.com/
  7. Why Do We Imagine Aliens as ‘Little Green Men’?, LiveScience: https://www.livescience.com/55370-why-are-aliens-little-green-men.html
  8. Alien (1979), directed by Ridley Scott: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0078748/
  9. Prometheus (2012), directed by Ridley Scott: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1446714/
  10. Xenomorph, Alien Species Wiki: https://aliens.fandom.com/wiki/Xenomorph
  11. Arrival (2016), directed by Denis Villeneuve: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2543164/
  12. Stories of Your Life and Others, written by Ted Chiang: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/223380.Stories_of_Your_Life_and_Others
  13. Ted Chiang’s Soulful Science Fiction, The New Yorker: https://www.newyorker.com/culture/persons-of-interest/ted-chiangs-soulful-science-fiction
  14. Non-Biological Extraterrestrial, Transformers Wiki: https://tfwiki.net/wiki/Non-Biological_Extraterrestrial
  15. District 9 (2009), directed by Neill Blomkamp: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1136608/
  16. Independence Day (1996), directed by Roland Emmerich: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0116629/
  17. Rendezvous with Rama, written by Arthur C. Clarke: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/112537.Rendezvous_with_Rama
  18. 2001: A Space Odyssey, written by Arthur C. Clarke: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/70535.2001
  19. Childhood’s End, written by Arthur C. Clarke: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/414999.Childhood_s_End
  20. 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968), directed by Stanley Kubrick: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0062622/
  21. Hyperion Cantos Series, written by Dan Simmons: https://www.goodreads.com/series/40461-hyperion-cantos
  22. Drake Equation: Estimating the Odds of Finding E.T., Space.com: https://www.space.com/25219-drake-equation.html
  23. At Last, How Many Alien Civilization Are There?, Astrobiology Magazine: https://www.astrobio.net/alien-life/at-last-how-many-alien-civilizations-are-there/
  24. The Fermi Paradox, Wait But Why: https://waitbutwhy.com/2014/05/fermi-paradox.html
  25. The Fermi Paradox — Where Are All The Aliens? and The Fermi Paradox II — Solutions and Ideas — Where Are All The Aliens?, Kurzgesagt — In a Nutshell: https://youtu.be/sNhhvQGsMEc
  26. Joe Rogan Experience #1233 — Brian Cox, PowerfulJRE: https://youtu.be/wieRZoJSVtw
  27. The Great Filter Might Be What’s Preventing Aliens From Reaching Us, Curiosity.com: https://curiosity.com/topics/the-great-filter-might-be-whats-preventing-aliens-from-reaching-us-curiosity/
  28. Why Alien Life Would be our Doom — The Great Filter, Kurzgesagt — In a Nutshell: https://youtu.be/UjtOGPJ0URM
  29. Search for extraterrestrial intelligence: https://www.seti.org/
  30. Wow! signal, Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wow!_signal
  31. Carl Sagan — Pale Blue Dot, carlsagandotcom: https://youtu.be/wupToqz1e2g
  32. A Pale Blue Dot, The Planetary Society: http://www.planetary.org/explore/space-topics/earth/pale-blue-dot.html
  33. Voyager: https://voyager.jpl.nasa.gov/
  34. What Happens to Religion When We Find Aliens?, Shannon Stirone on Medium: https://medium.com/s/space-time/what-happens-to-religion-when-we-find-extraterrestrial-life-742146170c27

Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

Leave a Reply